Twitter Loosens Its Character Count Restrictions - Social Media Explorer
Twitter Loosens Its Character Count Restrictions
Twitter Loosens Its Character Count Restrictions
by

Well, it’s finally official. After weeks of speculation, Twitter announced today that photos, videos, GIFs, and Quote Text will no longer count against the 140 character limit imposed by the platform.

It’s important to note that this announcement doesn’t mean you get any MORE than 140 characters to work with (Twitter apparently toyed with that idea already). It just means that all 140 of your allowed characters can be completely devoted to your pithy prose without having to account for a link once required for images, videos, and the like. General links to third-party content will still take up 23 characters of the total, precious 140 available.

This change may provide some additional motivation for people to tweet a little more, or try out new ways of tweeting with slightly more content in each tweet. It remains to be seen, however, whether this change will have an impact on Twitter’s declining user growth trend.

With upstarts like Snapchat now surpassing Twitter in daily active users, Twitter is under pressure to retain (regain?) its relevance in an age where new shiny social media objects pose constant competition for attention and eyeballs.

Twitter is no doubt hoping this new iteration of its feature set will be more widely used and adopted than its recent Snapchat copycat feature called Stickers.

What do you think? Is Twitter moving in the right direction or has it already #JumpedTheShark?

About the Author

Don Power
Don Power is the Director of Content Marketing for Renegade LLC, and Managing Editor of SocialMediaExplorer.com. When it comes to content marketing, Don's been the Cyrano for a variety of organizations and delivered The King’s Speech himself from a host of stages and platforms across North America. Don extends an open invitation to connect on LinkedIn or Twitter.

Newsletter

Social Media Jobs


VIP Explorer’s Club

Archives

Privacy Preference Center

Close your account?

Your account will be closed and all data will be permanently deleted and cannot be recovered. Are you sure?